GNWT 50 Quiz

Are you a history buff? Do you consider yourself a GNWT aficionado? Take our quiz to find out how much you really know about the history of the Government of the Northwest Territories. Challenge your friends to do the same.

For each question, pick the correct answer. Hint: to boost your score, we suggest reading the Moments and Milestones page before you start the quiz.


On September 18, 1967, a plane landed in Ottawa carrying 74 civil servants who were moving from Ottawa to Yellowknife. When he arrived in Yellowknife, what were Commissioner Stuart Hodgson’s first words?

A second charter carried half a ton of paper per employee – a total of 46,800 pounds – as well as 11,500 pounds of books, records, reports and publications.